View Thread
Point Defense Systems » Point Defense Systems Remastered Project » Point Defense Systems 2 R&D Lab
 Print Thread
Preparing PDS Mod Repository
Typhoone
Hi all;

Based on yasotay's comment of "what do we do next"; I went ahead and proactively started setting up a repository where we can host our collaborative effort for PDS:RM. I'm not sure how it was done in previous generations; if revision control was used, if there was an online space, etc. But I'm a software developer, so I decided to go ahead and use what I know.

So I've created a private repository on GitHub for 'hwpdsrm' - and I've created a early alpha starting point for the mod. I'd like to officially extend an invitation to everyone on these boards to join. So here are the next steps, by the end of the week:

*I'll have a forum thread (and git wiki page) written on how to access tools, commit content, and build+play PDS:RM. When this goes live, it'd be great to have it sticky'd.
*Because of licensing questions, the repo is private right now (not public) so it is invite-only. Therefore, please register a Github account http://github.com, PM or post your username in this thread.
*There will be a skeleton for /src of mod-tree, /docs, /tools, /models, old-mod backup files, etc.

A lot of things will be changing with regards to HW:RM, just see this GBX dev post: http://forums.gearboxsoftware.com/t/p.../502257/37

Some changes in our /source repo so far:

alpha v0.01:
-hgn_ and vgr_carrier have upgraded PDS weapons (2x rapid fire ACs and 2x small flak batteries).
-added custom light autocannon weapons for interceptor, carrier, etc based off vanilla.
-hgn_ and vgr_interceptor have re-rolled weapon damage and accuracies.
-Started adding "PDS:Remastered" text to skrimish mode game setup and launch gamerules.

Let me know questions/comments/thoughts, I'll be around all week!

Typh.

yasotay