View Thread
Point Defense Systems » General Discussions and Writings » Officers' Lounge
 Print Thread
Sins of a Solar Empire Vs Homeworld
aspasticninja
Recently, I started playing a game called Sins of a Solar Empire. My thinking was that it would be similar to Homeworld, except with some Civilization-esk management stuff. I was partially right, and for the most part I find the game enjoyable, except for one flaw that really bothers me after so much Homeworld, and that is the lack of vertical movement.

Now, I understand that the whole Z-axis thing was probably one of the reasons Homeworld never took off like say, Starcraft or Command and Conquer, but as a HW vet it is very annoying to not be able to move my ships around with a realistic amount of freedom.

Aside from that, it's a pretty fun game, if you like the conquering and managing planets stuff. I never really liked Civ, but luckily the planets tend to care for themselves more than the cities in Civ did. You still have to pay attention, because if a world at the edge of your territory doesn't like you very much its quite easy for an enemy to convince them to switch sides. Things like the phase jumps between planets add an interesting twist to the gameplay, as does having the branching tech tree (much like Tel is doing w/ PDS 12, you can choose to upgrade different weapons for different effects.)

I suppose the reason I brought this up was because I figured someone else here might have thought it looked interesting too. I know Bones said he didn't like it, and he does make a valid point about the long space between battles and the enemies running. Personally, I find it fun when I have a superior force to watch the buggers run home with my ships hot on their asses. But anyway, if anyone has actually read this far without stopping, I suggest you download the demo here: http://files.filefront.com/Sins+of+a+...einfo.html

Huh, did not mean to write that much...oh well.
Edited by aspasticninja on 03-07-2008 05:29